Celebrating Musical Excellence: Port Washington Students Shine at 2024 NMEA All County Music Festival

Over 100 Port Washington School District students were selected to perform in the 2024 Nassau Music Educators Association (NMEA) All County Music Festival—held at the Tilles Center for the Performing Arts on multiple days this month. The festival brings music students together from schools throughout Nassau County.


To qualify for selection, most students perform at the New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) Adjudication Festival and the students must be nominated by their music teachers. A committee of Nassau County music educators make the final selection of which students will perform in the various groups. Kevin Scully, Director of Creative Arts for Port Washington UFSD, noted that this is the largest number of students that the District has ever had selected. He attributes that to his hardworking faculty. “Thank you for all you have done to give so many of our students this wonderful opportunity. From NYSSMA preparation to extra help sessions, to the actual process of nominating the students, your efforts are greatly appreciated,” said Scully.

The Port Washington students performed in five different divisions—broken down by grade level—in the categories of Band, Chorus, Orchestra, Vocal Jazz, and Jazz Band.


Congratulations to the following students:


Daly Elementary School: Isabel Berman, Grace Chen, Bradley Ganatra, Hayden Hershkowitz, Jack Rabin, Karishma Rehani, Asher Ross, Rue Sandler, Morgan Sim, and Dillon Zwerlein.

Guggenheim Elementary School:
Jake Bronstein, Spencer Champeny, Isabella Devito, Leah Di Marzo, Vann Gebbie, Kaito Kumagai, Miranda Siegel, and Vanessa Wang.

Manorhaven Elementary School: Natalya Chang, Kendall Evans, Addison Goldsmith, Mollie Kass, Logan Levy, Violet Seo, Akari Shirota, Olivia Sobel, and Eden Stock.

Salem Elementary School:
Ava Babarcich, Jonathan Ban, Emma Cassens, Kiran Cherena, Savannah Detor, Charlotte Goldsmith, and Henry Peral.

Sousa Elementary School: Sofia Aguilar, Serena Capraro, Aya Iwata, Cailyn Jiang, Garrison Liu-Gammon, Hannah Peters, Owen Weaver, Alexander Yuen, and Sophia Zappala.

Weber Middle School: Ethan Ascher, Cameron Brook, Anthony Carillo, Corinne Cheah, Audrey Cheah, Michaela Conlon, Addison Craig, Campbell Fein, Lucien Fernandez, Laylie Fogel, Sydney Fonseca, Benjamin Garcia-Benitez, Sophia Gebbie, Ashley Guo, Lila Hershman, Shiyun Hu, Erin Kim, Jooah Kim, Lena Kim, Victoria Koo, Gabriela Leder, Lucas Lee, Chaemin Lee, Ava Lefkowitz, Sophie Liu, Evan Mallari, Sylvie Melman, Ben Milgrim, Paul Moon, Claire (Jia) Park, Nicholas Piccciuto, Daniel Princian, Marisyn Scully, Luke Serna, Jonah Shapiro, Ezra Smolow, Sophie Sobel, Evan Wang, Ellie Watling, and Benjamin Zawadzki.

Schreiber High School: Matisse Byrnes, Gavin Cheevers, Marley Coren, Sadie Feingold, Aaron Gilbert, Aine Hassett, Aisling Hassett, Gabriel Jaffe, Milan John, Julian Kimball, Alexandra Lazear, Timothy Lee, Vivian Leung, Annie Li, Maximo Lopez, Averie Masia, Aurora Mata, Cassidy Metzner, Elizabeth Milgrim, Gavin Miller, Daniel O'Farrell, Charlie Paredes, Eunice Park, Connor Roditi, Eve Siff-Scherr, Myla Tannenbaum, Anastasia Theodoropoulos, Sayuki Toyama, Charlotte Walz, and Monica Weber.

Daly Elementary School

Guggenheim Elementary School

Manorhaven Elementary School

Salem Elementary School

Sousa Elementary School

Weber Middle School

Schreiber High School